Chocolate Chip Cookies

I intended to bake a batch of christmas cookies as presents, last christmas. really. honest. I swear.
I even bought the set of christmas cookie cutters, dug out my rolling pin from the depths of my kitchen cupboards and bought all the ingredients needed, but, somehow i just never got to it.

ah yes. i blame school. econs, business law and all that jazz; stressful stuff.

So there I was, the night before christmas eve, desperate for ideas that would make for a nice small gift.
Went through my fridge and found a new bag of chocolate chips stashed beneath the chips, so I decided on making my chocolate chip cookies!

This recipe is perfect for baking noobs as there’s no way to mess it up.

I had one main concern though, as previously I had always baked these cookies in a turbo broiler…

I didn’t have an oven back then,but the cookies always turned out perfect when ‘baked’ in my broiler. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to replicate the same cookie in my microwave oven and it’d be disastrous to give away lousy cookies as gifts.

But I’m glad I went ahead with making the cookies as they were every bit as delicious as I remember them to be.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 60-ish small cookies

1  1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup soft margarine or butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup caster sugar (you could use 1/2 cup instead but I reduced the amount, don’t want the cookies too sweet)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (I sometimes use almond extract instead, and find that this induces a very Famous Amos-ish scent!)
1 egg
2/3 cup chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 375°F (190°C)

2. Place all ingredients in a bowl and stir until combined

3. Place them on the baking sheet in tablespoonfuls, if not you could shape n roll them up with your hands like me

4. Bake for 11 – 15 minutes, or until golden browned around the edges

5. Leave to cool completely before packing

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

